Why this Witch does NOT Worship Satan

e6bd4ae9161818e29b70701ae456d717

Repeat after me. “Witches don’t worship Satan. Witches don’t worship Satan. Witches don’t worship  Satan.”  And while you’re at it, put this in your pipe and smoke it – I don’t “worship” Jesus for the same reasons.  While I believe that both Jesus and Satan exist as opposite archetypes, Yin and Yang so to speak of the Judeo-Christian communities, I don’t fall down on my knees to either of them.  I’ve had enough negative experiences with the patriarchy.  So, why would I want to diminish my own hard won self-esteem by buying into two largely misogynistic schools of spirituality?  I don’t. In their purest forms Christianity and even the Church of Satan don’t necessarily have to be misogynistic, but in practice today, here in Los Angeles, in 2013 they sure are. And seriously, both schools of thought are far too obsessed with female sexuality and are equal as adversaries in the “War Against Women.”

While I am not a Wiccan, I agree with their views on both Satan and Jesus even though technically my own personal practice has its roots in Catholicism with several caveats – I don’t hate myself for being a woman.  I don’t believe that my gender is responsible for “the Fall.” I view that as just another bunch of malarkey perpetuated by the patriarchy in order to keep the status quo. Personally, I think the rationale in any school of thought which maintains that women are objects, unable to control their own desires and better utilized for the procreation and pleasuring of men is a lame excuse for the atrocities committed by men against women every day all over the world.

Believe it or not I have and always will be a heterosexual woman. I don’t hate men, but I don’t buy into the notion that women are second class citizens either.  When the Church of Satan came out with the practice of using a nude woman’s body as an “altar” I wrote them off.  Of course I don’t worship Satan.  He’s a misogynist!

Leave a Reply

