The Accidental Invocation: Hello Holy Spirit

Holy Spirit

For years I have shunned reconnecting with my Catholic roots, mainly because Catholicism was used in my family as an excuse or a justification for bigotry and abuse. I come from a 3rd world country that is predominantly misogynistic even though there have been at least two female presidents within the last decade. Go figure. So, while I have fond memories of deep prayer and meditation within convent walls for the two years I was exiled to the Philippines, I could not identify myself as a Catholic especially after I woke up from a 3 day coma with gifts that would have had me burned as a witch at Easter in my homeland. I’m not kidding.

If you think the good ole USA is misogynistic country imagine yourself in a world where the value of a female child is sometimes measured by her value as a breeder, beauty queen  and/or a prostitute in all social classes. And even though the strength of this island nation is anchored in all of the above and the emerging working class of educated women who are the hub of the highly underpaid and overworked masses, nothing much has changed.  If you’ve ever wondered why there is such a mass exodus from the Philippines, I assure you that is the reason.  I’m being blunt, but truthful.

Still, the lure of connecting with a power that is the third element in the supernal triangle was hard to resist. My “special gift” is that anything that I call will come. Angel, God, Demon, Dragon, Genii, Elemental or Shade… if I call it… it will come. This past week I’ve been feeling nostalgic because I’ve been under the weather, so I decided that I’d reach back into my past and invoke something comforting. In fact why not invoke “the Comforter?” It took me less than 5 minutes to find exactly what I needed to do just that.

Veni, Creator Spiritus, mentes tuorum visita, imple superna gratia, quae tu creasti pectora. from Veni Creator Spiritus

Leave a comment